Connect with us

Pakistan politics

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Asad Qaiser elected Speaker National Assembly

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Asad Qaiser on Wednesday emerged as the choice of Speaker for the 14th National Assembly.



Asad Qaiser

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Asad Qaiser has been elected Speaker National Assembly after competing in a tough race against the opposition’s nominee for the slot and former opposition leader Syed Khurshid Shah.

Qaiser bagged 176 votes while Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Syed Khurshid Shah received 146 in the secret balloting process. A total of 330 votes were cast among which eight were rejected.

Outgoing speaker Ayaz Sadiq administered oath to new speaker who will supervise the election of the deputy speaker for the Lower House of Parliament.

The session begun after a delay of more than half-an-hour due to late arrival of MNAs. As the session begun, oath was administered to five MNAs-elect who did not attend the first session.

Lawmakers belonging to various political parties, including prime minister-in-waiting Imran Khan and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, are present in the Lower House of Parliament for the election.


Connect with us