Connect with us

Pakistan News

ECP decides to halt results of 32 constituencies

Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday has decided to halt election results of 32 national and provincial assemblies’ constituencies.




ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has announced it would be halting election results of at least 32 constituencies.

The decision was taken after High Court’s order to conduct a recount in at least 15 National Assembly constituencies and 17 provincial assemblies constituencies.

It is to be mentioned here that ECP had restrained victory notifications of Pervez Khattak in NA-25 Nowshera, Khawaja Asif in NA-73 Sialkot, Hameed Ali in NA-90 and Zulfiqar Bhatti in NA-91.

Likewise, the court also stopped the commission from releasing triumph announcements of Farrukh Habib in NA-108, Junaid Anwar Chaudhry in NA-112, Imran Khan in NA-131, Sardar Talib in NA-140, Naveed Dairo in NA-215 and Ranaullah in NA-106.

The ECP will notify final results of the general elections 2018 of remaining constituencies today. The independent candidates will have to declare affiliation with political parties within three days after the notification.

However, the notification of candidates on special seats will be issued on Saturday, after which the president will summon National Assembly’s session.

The newly-elected parliamentarians will take oath and elect the speaker and leader of house in the same session.

The governors of all the four provinces will summon session of provincial assemblies according to the rules.


Connect with us