Connect with us


Australia end Pakistan’s T20 winning streak with 9-wicket thrashing




Australia have overtaken the number one ranked T20 side Pakistan by a surprising 9-wicket victory in the second T20 match of the tri-series underway in Zimbabwe, ending Pakistan’s glorious eight-match winning streak in the most exciting format of the game.

Pakistan’s batting top order became a victim of Australia’s opening fast bowler Billy Stanlake who took four quick wickets for only 8 runs, leaving the Green Shirts wondering. The Pakistani side could only manage 116 before they were bowled out in the 19th over.

Australia chased the total easily, rather mockingly, with 9 overs to spare. Powered by skipper Aaron Finch’s 68 off only 33 deliveries, Australia’s batting innings exposed the weakening Pakistan bowling attack with only Hasan Ali taking a wicket and that too for an expensive spell.

Openers Muhammad Hafeez and Fakhar Zaman failed to impress, followed by Hussain Talat’s and skipper Sarfraz Ahmed’s disappointing respective innings. Pakistan fell 24 for 4 by the time Stanlake was done with his 4 overs.

Take a quick look: China lends $1 billion to Pakistan


Australia´s strike bowler Billy Stanlake (C) celebrates a wicket with teammates during the 2nd match played between Australia and Pakistan as part of a T20 tri-series which includes host country Zimbabwe at Harare Sports Club, on July 2, 2018. Photo:AFP

Shoaib Malik, who became the first male cricketer to play 100 T20Is in the match, briefly rallied alongside Asif Ali before a horrible mix-up led his run out for 13. A brief Asif Ali was followed by resistance from Faheem-Shadab duo, but Australia’s bowling-fielding matchup refused to slip any runs to Pakistan. All in all, Pakistan finished 116 all out without completing their 20 overs.

Take a quick look: Nawaz, Maryam to return to Pakistan in a week

Playing XI

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Hussain Talat, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (c/wk), Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Usman Khan

Australia: Aaron Finch (c), D’Arcy Short, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Nic Maddinson, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wk), Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake


Connect with us